The Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate, and Forestry Hon. Soipan Tuya, E.G.H together with Uasin Gishu County Governor H.E Hon. Dr Jonathan Bii Chelilim, E.G.H on Friday led leaders drawn from Baringo, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kericho and Uasin Gishu counties and residents to mark this year’s Wetlands day held at Timboroa Dam (Lake Narasha) in Kesses Sub- County.

CS Hon Soipan Tuya acknowledged the theme “Wetlands and Well-being” of this year’s event by linking it to its significance in Wetlands’ survival and human well-being. She urged locals to put more emphasis on restoration and protection of wetlands for food production and conservation of water.

“I appreciate efforts by the Counties, NEMA and other stakeholders in the mapping of all the 10,000 Wetlands across the country,” she noted.

She also urged Kenyans to plant trees to help realise President William Ruto’s target of achieving a total of 15 billion trees in the next ten years.

On his part, Governor Dr.Jonathan Bii E.G.H reiterated his commitment to safeguarding the wetlands in Uasin Gishu County saying his administration has put in place measures to rehabilitate wetlands for economic development

“My administration will ensure the wetlands are fenced, preserved, and well taken care of. I urge everyone to plant trees,” he stated.

The Water and Environment Permanent Secretary Eng Festus Ng’eno said Wetlands have a big relation to climate change, livelihoods, land usage, health, and biodiversity together with the ecosystem.

“Wetlands are our wealth lands and not wastelands, let us stop dumping waste materials around Wetlands as this leads to a lot of harm towards them,” Eng Ng’eno noted.

The County Executive Committee member for Water and Environment Dr Sam Kotut said the county has identified and mapped over 300 wetlands and it’s ready to provide resources for rehabilitating them.

Present were Senator Hon Jackson Mandago, EGH, Kesses MP Hon CPA Julius Ruto, Nominated MP Joseph Wainaina, Area MCA Hon Thomas Yego, CECM’s Eng Lucy Ng’endo ( Sports), Mr Edward Sawe (Agriculture), Dr Janeth Kosgey (Lands), Chief Officers Mary Kerich (Energy, Environment and Climate Change), Ambrose Tarus (Public Service), Mark Some (Administration), Chief Of Staff Nicholas Chepkwony among other notable government officials.